Official State of Iowa Website

Iowa Commission of Libraries

The Iowa Commission of Libraries is the governing board for the State Library of Iowa. The Commission's duties were originally outlined in Iowa Code 256.52, but as of July 1, 2023 are being moved to section 8A.203 (citation link will be provided once the Legislative Services Agency publishes the Supplement to the 2023 Code of Iowa). 

The Commission consists of seven members appointed by the governor to serve four-year terms, one member appointed by the Iowa Supreme Court, and the director of the Department of Administrative Services. A quorum of five members is required to conduct business and the Commission operates its meetings in accordance with Iowa's Open Meetings Laws.

The Commission is responsible for advising and adopting rules to carry out the responsibilities of the State Library and supporting the State Library to fulfill its goal of providing for the improvement of library services to all Iowa citizens and fostering development and cooperation among libraries.

Current Commission Members

Below is the current membership of the Iowa Commission of Libraries. 

Interested in becoming a Commissioner? Find out more information, including how to apply, at the Iowa Talent Bank.

Carrie Falk

Carrie Falk.png

Public Librarian
Term: 7/31/2020 - 4/30/2024

Brandon Denner

At-Large Member
Term: 7/1/2021 - 4/30/2025


Public Library Trustee

Mindy Reimer

Mindy Reimer Headshot web.jpg

School or AEA Librarian
Term: 10/27/2022 - 4/30/2025

Fred Schuster

At-Large Member
Term: 5/1/2023 - 4/30/2027


Public Librarian

Robert Gast

Bob Gast Supreme Court web.jpg

Iowa Supreme Court

Adam Steen

Director, Iowa Department of Administrative Services


Academic Librarian