Official State of Iowa Website

Iowa Library Advisory Panel

The State Library Advisory Panel works with Iowa libraries of all types and all sizes to make library service in Iowa the best it can be. It advises and recommends evidence-based best practices, assists the Iowa Commission of Libraries and the State Library in determining service priorities, articulates the needs and interests of Iowa librarians, and shares research and professional development information. The panel is made up of Iowa libraries of all types. Member terms are for four years with the potential for reappointment for three successive terms.

The Advisory Panel meets two to three times each year. The State Library relies on panel members to gather feedback from their areas and bring it to the meetings for discussion. Members are encouraged to attend in-person, but can attend electronically, if necessary.

Current Membership

Below is a list of the current members of the State Library Advisory Panel:

Member Name and Library/Organization Representing Library Type

Ann Coulter, Southwestern Community College Library, Creston (CHAIR)

Academic- Comm. College

Victor Lieberman, Northeast Iowa Community College, Peosta

Academic- Comm. College


Academic- Private

Greta Grond, Northwestern College

Academic- Private

Lorrie Pellack, Iowa State University

Academic- Regent

Shari Minnehan, Churdan Public Library

Public - A Size

Dee Schrodt, Alexander Public Library

Public - A Size

Lisa Leuck, Elgin Public Library

Public - B Size

Jesse Wheeler, Exira Public Library

Public – B Size

Glenda Mulder, Laurens Public Library

Public - C Size

Sarah Sellon, Ely Public Library

Public - C Size

Stacy Goodhue, Carlisle Public Library

Public - D Size

Jan Grandgeorge, Eagle Grove Public Library

Public - D Size

Ellen Petty, Garner Public Library

Public - D Size

Becky Bilby, Sioux Center Public Library

Public - E Size

Tena Sunde, Estherville Public Library

Public - E Size

Sarah Clendineng, Fort Madison Public Library

Public - F Size

Alison Ames Galstad, Coralville Public Library

Public – F Size

Sarah Rosenblum, Marshalltown Public Library

Public - G Size

Emanuel Mitchell, Des Moines Public Library

Public - H Size

Melia Tatman, Cedar Rapids Public Library

Public - H Size

Rebecca Bock, Oskaloosa Community Schools


Dianna Geers, Grant Wood AEA






Sarah Utoff, ILA President, Kirkwood Community College

Iowa Library Association

Susan Schrader, Heartland Area Education Agency

Area Education Agencies































Download a printable PDF, including member terms and email addresses:

Advisory Panel Member List

Recent News

Sep 28, 2023, 1:00 PM
A new tool is now available on the State Library website to help Iowans and visitors locate and connect with their local public library. The “Find My Local Library” tool displays an interactive and informational map of all the public libraries in the state. Learn More
Aug 8, 2023, 1:51 PM
The State Library has been awarded a grant of more than $246,000 from the Institute of Museum and Library Services as part of the Laura Bush 21st Century Librarian Program. The grant will be used on efforts to support the psychosocial needs of Iowa library staff and patrons. Learn More
Aug 1, 2023, 2:31 PM
Registration is now open for the State Library Learning Circuit on Thursday, Sept. 28. The event will take place from 9:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Registration is $20 and includes a continental breakfast and box lunch. Librarians can earn 5 CE credits for attending. Learn More