Iowa Commission of Libraries :: State Library of Iowa

Iowa Commission of Libraries

The Iowa Commission of Libraries is the governing board for the State Library of Iowa (Iowa Code 256.52).  It consists of seven members appointed by the governor to serve four-year terms, one member appointed by the Iowa Supreme Court, and the director of the Department of Education or the director’s designee.

The Commission has the authority to receive and approve the State Library budget; to receive and approve the State Library's plan of service; to appoint the State Librarian who serves at the pleasure of the Commission; and to adopt rules to carry out the responsibilities of the State Library.

The Commission is responsible for seeing that the State Library fulfills its mission to advocate for Iowa libraries and promote excellence and innovation in library services in order to provide statewide access to information for all Iowans.

Current Commission Members

Below is the current membership of the Iowa Commission of Libraries. 

Interested in becoming a Commissioner? Find out more information, including how to apply, at the Iowa Talent Bank.

Zachary Stier

Zach Stier web.jpg

Chair, Public Librarian
Term: 7/1/2021 - 4/30/2025

Robert Gast

Bob Gast Supreme Court web.jpg

Iowa Supreme Court

Carrie Falk

Carrie Falk.png

Public Librarian
Term: 7/31/2020 - 4/30/2024

Brandon Denner

At-Large Member
Term: 7/1/2021 - 4/30/2025


At-Large Member


Academic Librarian

Mindy Reimer

Mindy Reimer Headshot web.jpg

School or AEA Librarian
Term: 10/27/2022 - 4/30/2025


Public Library Trustee


Iowa Department of Education